Skip to content

Tooth Decay and Gluten Free Foods

August 29, 2012

I took my children for their yearly dental checkup and was absolutely horrified at the result. My littlies all had tooth decay and are in need of fillings. The dentist gave me the stern ‘you need to take better care of their teeth’ talking to. When I discussed with her our eating plan, how we don’t have juices (unless freshly squeezed), we only drink water or almond milk. We don’t have wheat, dairy, or junk food. We couldn’t work out why they would have such decay.

Then it clicked. We’ve been using gluten free products.

They’re actually loaded with sugar.

You think you’re doing the right thing by your child, getting them gluten free breads/cupcake mixes etc as a treat, and they’re basically sugar.

I feel like such a bad parent. And the worst thing was the decay is in a part of their teeth that just with my brushing skills I can’t really see, especially with the twins who want to brush their own teeth and get upset if I try to help them.

So it’s back to the drawing board.

Needless to say the Gluten-Free stuff is in the bin.

Does this ever get any easier?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

