Skip to content

Smacking?

August 3, 2012

Yesterday I tried, somewhat unsucessfully, to take my children to get fitted for new shoes. For their school they must wear black leather shoes with velcro laces, which are quite hard to find, but we endeavoured to do our best. I took them to the shop I had bought the first pair of shoes earlier this year (by the way little children’s feet grow so fast, and when there’s two in the same size, growing at the same rate, well you know the drill, double the expenditure).

My kids had had enough by this stage and were in the ‘ratty, we want something to eat, drink, go to the toilet” stage of the afternoon. Now I know they could have been better behaved, I have now doubt about that, but when the shop assistant came up to me and said “I have kids too, if you want to smack them I won’t say anything”.

I was gobsmacked.

A total stranger was telling me I had to smack my children to get them to sit still in her shop.

I politely thanked her for her time, and then left the shop.

I don’t know what I was more upset about, the fact that this woman judged my children as needing a smack or the fact that she thought it her right to tell me how to parent.

Needless to say we did eventually find shoes for the kids at less than a third of the price I would have paid in the original shop. Go figure.

I’m sure the shop assistant thought she was doing the right thing, but really? Telling a woman to smack her kids because they wouldn’t sit on a seat while shoes were picked out. They were in fact dancing in front of her mirrors and laughing/giggling at the silly faces they were pulling. Sheesh lady chill out a little.

As for the kids and Paleo, we’re still plugging away. I’ve been looking into vitamin D supplementation, which foods are the best sources etc etc. Apparently there is a very finite window of opportunity to help the children’s brain function to go back to what the world classes as ‘normal’. After 6yrs of age the ‘experts’ say it’s limited success at best. Thanks experts. Let’s see what we can do to change that stat.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

