Skip to content

Student of The Week

June 9, 2012

The teachers in my twins Prep class came rushing up to me when I picked them up the other day. Mr5 has been nominated for Student of the Week because his behaviour has had nearly a 180 degree turnaround. They spoke to me of how he was able to sit down and concentrate on his work, he completed the tasks they asked him to do, his speech and communication abilities are improving rapidly.

So what changed?

A week ago he would withdraw into himself if people couldn’t understand him, he would run away in the classroom rather than sit still and focus. He was never ‘naughty’ just couldn’t concentrate.

Less than a week ago I started both the twins on chelation therapy, using magnesium, zinc, Vit B1-12, Vit C, Calcium, and Glutathione. The changes in both of our children are noticible. It’s too early to say whether this is helping permanently, but for now I’ll take any little change I can get.

They are wonderful, they’re full of life, and see good in things I’d never thought of. But they find it hard to share their feelings and opinions with me, I am searching for a way both medically and behaviourally to help them break out of the ties that bind them.

There are a few studies around at the moment linking L-glutathione and improving autistic children’s behaviour, here’s the latest one:    http://www.biologicalpsychiatryjournal.com/article/S0006-3223(12)00053-4/abstract

I don’t know if this will make everything better, or if there really is any need for better, or who defines better in the first place. I do know, however, that these are my children, and I will find ways to help them have a fulfilling and meaningful education.

It’s seeing  “Student of The Week” in big letters beside my sons name that makes all the heartache and stress I feel at times worth it.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2012 1:52 pm

    good luck with it! I hope yo have many such happy days to come!

    • Natalie Hatch permalink*
      June 9, 2012 2:17 pm

      Thanks Imelda, I’m hoping it’s going to be all okay.

Leave a Reply

