Skip to content

Darn Sneaky Wheat

October 26, 2011

I purchased some vitamins for the kids just to ensure that they weren’t missing out on anything with the change in their diet. Lo and behold even the vitamins are full of gluten. I bought these chewable calcium supplements that are packaged as dairy free. Thinking I was doing the good thing I gave them to my kids. Oh dear. Well, there was no dairy/casein in the vitagummies, that’s a good thing. But their teacher came to me today and asked what the heck was going on with Twin1. He was cranky, throwing tanties like they haven’t seen in months, and even being nasty to his best friends. I thought he might be cutting molars or something like that. We hadn’t changed anything in his diet, there was nothing I could think of that would affect him like that. And then hubby came home and asked me to read the label on the calcium supplement. Oh bugger! So we found the culprit, and have eliminated them from our dietary schedule. Darn it, I thought I was on to something good.

It’s amazing how much wheat is in the supermarket. I know in the U.S. the major nasty is the High Fructose Corn Syrup, but here in Oz it seems wheat is the thing that sneaks in everywhere. It’s in soy sauces, most sauces/condiments, frozen foods, jellies, jams, so many foods it’s hard to list them all. And for parents of kids who go nuts when it’s in their system it’s a nightmare trying to go shopping for food.

I’d like a gluten free, casein free, additive free supermarket where I could shop without fear. Oh hey, I know what that’s called – Farmers Market. Fresh food at your fingertips. Nice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

