Skip to content

October 3, 2011

My kids are hard done by, honestly, they’ll tell you how hard it is. I mean their friends get to take lollies and chocolates and chips to school by the carton. My kids get popcorn (if they’re lucky), home made paleo pancakes, fruit, eggs, and other stuff.

So today I looked up a way to make fruit leather in the Industrial dehydrator (hubby had reminded me I wasn’t using it as much as I said I would). And low and behold all I needed was some baking paper to spread out on the shelves and I had a perfect tray for fruit leather… Right so I had to then have a look in my fridge to see what fruit I had on hand to play with.

Luckily for my kids strawberries are in harvest right now, so I blended up some strawberries, some mixed berries, pears and honey to make a perfect paste to spread out on the tray. I’ve got it on for 8 hours at 140C so that in the morning my kids will have fruit leather roll-ups to take to school and be cool like the other kids. Oh and they’ll be able to say “hey my mum loves me so much she made this for me”…

We also decided to try to make Kiwi-fruit and Apple leather as well. I hope it’ll work out, there’s not much to this recipe, just peel and core fruit, pop it into the blender with a little bit of honey until it’s mush, and then spread it out on the baking paper. Place into the dehydrator at 140C for 8 hours. Will let you know tomorrow how we go.

Another remarkable thing happened on the weekend. Hubby came home from his sisters and said these immortal words “I ate asparagus”.

Here’s a bit of background on this situation. When I married hubby he stated categorically that he would never ever ever in his whole life ever eat eggs or asparagus. Both things he declared were obscene and he was never going to eat them, so I should never try to share it with him ever.

Fair enough, more for me. Until yesterday when he came home and declared ‘fresh’ asparagus tasty and edible and he’d eat it again! Oh, really, well guess what we had for dinner tonight?

Asparagus wrapped in ham, with baked sweet potato sauteed with mushrooms, mint, walnuts and mixed herbs. Mouthwateringly delicious. Here’s some pics.

 

 

 

 

 

(Note to self: Need to work out how to get the steam to not fog up the camera lens)

It was more than enough to satiate my tastebuds. It was pretty simple to make, but the taste, oh my, the taste was incredible. Who said Asparagus was disgusting? Absolutely beautiful. Oh and hubby didn’t complain one bit.

Here’s the recipe:

Asparagus Wrapped in Ham –

Long stalks of asparagus washed with ends cut off.

100gms thinly sliced ham (you could use bacon if you prefer)

Wrap two stalks of asparagus in ham and place on a lined baking tray, bake in the oven on 200C for 20 mins. Serve hot. (Easiest dish I’ve made this year)

Walnut and Sweet Potato Sautee.

Peel and cut two medium sweet potatoes (cook in the microwave for 12 mins to soften)

1 cup Mushrooms, sliced in half

1/2 cup crushed walnuts

1/4 cup fresh mint

1/4 cup fresh parsley

1/4 cup fresh shallots

1/4 cup grapeseed oil

salt to taste

Place sweet potatoes, mushrooms, walnuts onto a heated oiled baking pan. Sprinkle herbs and remaining oil and salt over the top. Bake in a 200C oven for twenty minutes. Serve hot.

I promise these two dishes served together will melt in your mouth and drive your tastebuds wild. I wish I had cooked more than I did, as there was nothing left, even the baking pans were licked clean by my family before I could get a chance at the left overs. Gotta love a easy, clever dish that gets your kids eating healthy foods.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

