Skip to content

Gluten and Bed-wetting

September 21, 2011

Unbeknownst to me, my little treasure Miss4 inhaled gluten filled fairy bread on Tuesday at Kindy. Her mood that afternoon was nothing short of spectacularly tantrumy. I had to keep reassuring myself that I did endure 5 years of IVF treatment to bring her into the world and that it wasn’t a waste of my time as she threw herself about the place reminiscent of Linda Blair’s “Exorcist” performance. I love her, I know I love her, because she’s still here today.

What I didn’t realise is the link between gluten and bed-wetting. Until this morning, when she woke up soaked to the skin on the brand new mattress I’d just bought. I dutifully cleaned her up, washed the sheets, scrubbed the now christened brand new mattress, and generally tried to work out what went wrong.

Miss4 has been toilet trained for at least a year and a half now, and has rarely wet the bed, so I was a bit taken aback this morning. It wasn’t until later on when I spoke with hubby that he reminded me the only thing different was that she had indulged (overindulged) in gluten. We’d gone through the normal routine the night before of stopping drinks at 6.30pm, taking her to the toilet before bed, making sure she was wrapped up tight in her blankets. She also does not have a UTI (which was the first thing that came to my mind when it happened). The only thing different was the food that day.

There have been a couple of studies done recently on food sensitivities and urinary incontinence (a nicer way of saying bed-wetting). Well Bladder have the details if you want to read further. Rob Wolf also discussed this issue in a podcast.

I have spoken with the Kindy teachers, I’ve also cooked up a batch of ‘gluten-free’ foods such as muffins and bread and had them store these in their freezer for any up-coming ‘parties’ that will happen in their school room. The Kindy is a stickler for going ‘nut-free’ I wonder if they’ll take on board the ‘gluten-free’ label as well? Probably not. Although if this keeps up I think I’ll leave her there for them to deal with while she comes down from her high. No you and I know I wouldn’t do that, but hey the only thing we didn’t have the other day was the pea&ham soup flying out of her mouth. She also didn’t levitate (which was a bit disappointing) I kept saying to hubby that any minute now she’ll spin her head around and start chanting bible verses backwards at us. He told me to calm down and let her go with the flow (easy for him to say, it was me she was chanting at). I guess we’ll just have to chalk this one down to experience. I’ve also re-watched the ending to The Exorcist just in case… you never know.

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

