Skip to content

I Win!

September 1, 2011

If my hubby ever wants to upset me all he has to say is “I win”. I know this is one of my shortfalls, but I honestly hate losing, at anything. I hate it when he beats me at things even though I know he has strengths where I have weaknesses (that’s part of the reason I married him) but man do I hate losing! And so he trotted the fateful words out tonight just to have a dig.

I like to accomplish things, I guess that’s why I’m so driven to help my family improve our health, I can see the end goal in sight and I know what I need to do to get there. If we have a few set backs along the way then that’s okay but in the end we’ll get there.

But it wasn’t always this way. A few years back I was afraid to try in case I failed miserably. I would give up before I even started, most times I actually could have done very well but the embarrassment of failing in front of everyone was too great for me to let myself try. Now I look back and think that I’ve missed out on some great opportunities in life just because I took myself too seriously.

The best thing about life is to try new things and sometimes that includes the risk of failure. But you will never know what you can accomplish if you don’t try. It’s a characteristic I’m trying to help my children develop, not to be afraid of failure. And the best way to teach something is to live it.

And right now I have to go tell my hubby that it’s okay if he thinks he won, good on him for thinking that. It doesn’t change reality, but I love him anyway.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 8:18 am

    So, true. Parenting is so much about modeling. Sadly, we model whether we are purposing to or not. If we create an environment for our kids where it is safe to fail, hopefully they won’t be scared to step out of their comfort zones in life. I, like you, have wasted many an opportunity due to fear of failure. Working on it. 🙂

  2. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    September 2, 2011 9:12 am

    I guess it’s a work in progress, I think the older I get the more willing I am to try new things, just wish I had the energy I did at 20.

Leave a Reply

