Skip to content

Pounding the Pavement

August 31, 2011

After a lapse of three months hubby and I donned the Dunlop Volleys and went for a run. Oh dear. I’m almost back to square one. I was running 14km a day, but after having surgery etc I could barely make 1km without feeling a bit overwhelmed. So now it’s back to building up my body to get it to where I want it to go.

I had a goal to run a half marathon by next month, however life sometimes gets in the way and we’ve had a couple of set backs. Does this mean I’ve abandoned my goal? No, I just have to put it back a little bit. I’ll get there, I’m not giving up on the end point, it’ll just take me longer than I had expected.

I think that’s an important thing to remember. Sometimes life interferes in your plans and you have to learn to roll with the punches. When in a fight rolling (or moving with the punches) takes the momentum off the punch and reduces the amount of force that you’re hit with. In life being flexible enough to say ‘hey we’ll just get back out there and start again’ is an important attribute to have. If you give up when things get tough you’ll never get what you really want. Sticking with things and pushing on even though you might have to go over more hurdles than you’d hoped for means that when you finally reach your goal it’ll be even more sweet.

My goal? Run a half marathon. When will I get to do this? I think maybe next March. I’ll shoot for that, if I get there before then that’ll be great. If I have to put that goal back a few more months I will.

What about you? What goals have you had to put back? Was it worth it in the end?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 6:46 pm

    Resuming swimming. It is both meditative and also resistance of water seems to be the best thing for my weight issues (well, that is the theory Dr & I have come up with).

    Life stuff has delayed it for a week or two. Though I know I’m going to be frustrated at only doing 4-6 laps to start (when I used to be able to do 40 – 60 a day).

  2. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    August 31, 2011 6:50 pm

    I’m hearing you Nicky. I thought “hey here we go just go run”… and then I ran and went “ok that’s not going too well”… so we’re back to slogging away until we start to feel that zone again, the one where you can just go forever, your body is in the rhythm. Love that feeling.

Leave a Reply

