Skip to content

First Jerky!

August 28, 2011

That title to this post sounds awful, but it was the only thing I could think of. I bought a dehydrator. I had an idea that if we started making our own jerky and other dehydrated foodstuffs we’d save some money I mean Biltong is $72/kg. So I found one that was recommended and it was $500 off the RRP. Had to buy it, it’s a bargain! (yes hubby did raise his eyebrows and sigh a bit when I explained myself).

Um…

The dehydrator turned up. It’s an INDUSTRIAL dehydrator.

Did I not know it was an industrial sized dehydrator?

Um, well… not exactly.

 

But as I said to hubby when he tried to lug the thing up the stairs and set it up on our bench. “It’s a bargain!” “Think of all the money we’ll save!” “It was on ebay, and everyone knows you get bargains on ebay!”

Hubby refused to answer, instead proceeded to wipe the sweat off his brow and grunt his way back to the computer.

I made jerky, using a new recipe I created myself. Black strap molasses, chilli flakes, garlic, mint, coriander (cilantro), sea salt, touch of soy sauce, and cummin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I laid the meat out on the trays as instructed and left the sucker running for 8 hours (might have to hide the power bill from hubby, he’s worried the Industrial nature of the machine will bring more bills to our home). I think it’s great to have such a huge sucker in our kitchen, it hardly takes up ALL the bench space. Perhaps we need bigger benches! Yeah good luck on that one.  I told hubs that if we get good enough then people will buy our jerky and it’ll be a business, and therefore it was money well spent. Again he walked away from me shaking his head. I don’t think he believes me.

.Fussy teen pronounced it “delish!” Everyone will be clambering for my jerky! Maybe??

Look it was my first go, I’ll perfect the recipe. At least I told hubs that with time we can do a satay/chilli combo, and we get to experiment. He replied that it wasn’t the type of experimenting he’d thought I’d meant. What?

Anyways I now own an industrial sized dehydrator, which sits on top of the fridge when not in use and takes up all the bench space in the kitchen when it is.

Think we need a bigger kitchen!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Louise Reynolds permalink
    August 28, 2011 4:44 pm

    Too funny, Nat. Love it. That jerky looks mighty fine by the way. I’ll be interested to hear what else you dehydrate as time goes by 🙂

  2. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    August 28, 2011 5:20 pm

    Thanks Louise. With this Industrial sized dehydrator I can dehydrate lots and lots of fruit! Woohoo, even half apples. Can’t wait. Oh and when bananas get cheaper I’ll be dehydration queen!

  3. August 29, 2011 7:13 am

    Just read your intro on the Paleo Rodeo and wanted to say how thrilled i am for you and your family! What an amazing story!!

    I love my dehydrator too, and my absolute favorite use for it is grape tomatoes, cut in half and dried until almost crunchy, but not quite. Through the winter, we add them to eggs, meat loaf, soup and stews, marinated kale, and on top or mixed in salads.

    but my dehydrator looks like a toy next to yours! 🙂

  4. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    August 29, 2011 4:25 pm

    Never thought of dehydrating kale, will have to look into that. My dehydrator is huge! I am a bit shocked at how big it is, but hey it was a bargain! Hubby will get used to it sooner or later. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Louise Reynolds permalink
    August 29, 2011 4:30 pm

    I was reading a recipe last night that called for “slightly dried cumquats” and thinking, if only…

  6. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    August 29, 2011 4:33 pm

    Ooh Louise, don’t give me ideas, never know what I could get up to with slightly dried cumquats!

Trackbacks

  1. First Jerky! | Low Carb Daily

Leave a Reply

