Skip to content

Beating the Hungries!

August 9, 2011

I was asked today by a friend who’s trying the 30day challenge how I manage not to be hungry all the time. She’s apparently craving bread and other carbs (including potatoes). I’ve found that the first week was the hardest and after that it became easier to know what my body needed in order to satiate it.

Here’s my tips:

  • beef jerky, a tiny amount takes a long time to chew and wow it keeps you full.
  • dried fruit and nuts – for in between meals when you need to keep going a handful works wonders, it curbs the sugar cravings as well as the “fat” cravings.
  • water, water, water. Many times I’ve thought I wanted food when I really needed water instead.
  • getting up and moving, if I sit too long I start to get the munchies, getting up and moving keeps my mind off my cravings
  • having enough protein/veges/fat in my meals. If I get the ratio right I don’t get the hungries until at least four hours after my meal. In the past an hour after I ate pasta I’d be starving again.
  • I also make sure that my lunch is prepared the night before, I work, and have a family to get ready for school in the morning so I used to often forget lunch and just go to the tuckshop and grab whatever they had. Now I put an extra serving aside when I dish up dinner and keep it in the fridge until the next morning. That way I have a nutritious meal for lunch and I can go another four/five hours without hitting the munchies.

What are your favourite ways to curb that first few weeks ‘cravings’ as your body detoxes?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 7:39 pm

    I agree that preparation is key! The thing I’m finding most difficult at the moment is the hormonally driven cravings – most of the month I’m fine, then BOOM, give me SUGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

    (If you’ve any tips for those I’m all ears!)

    My ways of avoiding the hungries are:

    1. Water water water
    2. Have crunchy snacks. Your mouth and brain realise that you’re eating (it’s not mindless swallowing) – thinking carrot sticks, or eating red capsicum like an apple. Or an apple.
    3. Brush your teeth, and well. Makes you less likely to cheat or eat.
    4. Make a list of ‘treat’ activities – have a bath, paint your nails, read a chapter, write a blog post, do somersaults or whatever is something you like to do. Distracts you from thinking you’re hungry.
    5. Get enough sleep. If I’m tired, I want to eat to perk up, and/or I’m crankier. Not a good combo!

  2. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    August 9, 2011 9:05 pm

    If your cravings are monthly driven then you can improve your outlook by having fish oil and evening primrose oil.

Leave a Reply

