Skip to content

Music Therapy

August 1, 2011

The influence of music on our lives cannot be overlooked. At university I always found I was able to improve my study sessions if I had Baroque music on softly in the background. I don’t know if it was because it cut out other background noises, or if it was indeed the music inspiring my little brain cells to take up the information I was giving them, what ever it was I could retain information better if I had the music on.

I’m starting music therapy with the kids this week. After carefully researching different music therapy methods I’ve found Mozart is the most recommended musician for improving memory and speech centres in the old noggin. Righto then. I started sharing his music with the kids. Miss4 demanded I “turn that off”… it was not the Wiggles or Hi5 that she was used to. Mr4 likes it, mainly because Little Einsteins is one of his favourite shows, he loves classical music. Mr6 just looked at me like I was on something. I will keep on with this little experiment. If anyone else has had successes with music therapy I’d love to hear from you.

On the food fronts, it seems we’re doing okay. We’re having a few hassles with getting the kids to eat veges (still) but it’s working for us. I even got Mr6 to try a bit of pork crackling tonight at dinner (not that I eat it, but he should try new foods every couple of days). Miss4 ate her carrots and tried a couple of string beans, she wasn’t too impressed. Mr4 is giving us a bit of grief, he doesn’t want to eat his dinner and so we’re resorting to keeping his food handy so that if he gets hungry later on he has his dinner to eat. He’s not happy with Daddy right now, and has used more words in a sentence to tell him so than I think he’s ever used before (hey he’s improving his language skills, even if he is throwing a bit of a tanty about it all).

Elana has a recipe over on her blog for Peppermint Patties, and it looks soo good. I am tempted to make them, but I think I’d have to hide them from the rest of the family, they’d be gone in thirty seconds if I did make them. Hmm, maybe when no one else is around? Yeah we’ll see.

My tummy is continuing to shed fat rolls, although this is leading to a bit of excess skin at the moment, need to get the abmat out and do more floor work I think. On my wish list is a Concept 2 rowing machine. I want one, but they’re a bit expensive. Even on ebay they’re way out of my league right now. I guess I’ll just have to save up my pennies for a while more.  I have lists for everything, I love lists, to do lists, wish lists, you name it. My husband is the exact opposite, might be from his time in the army. Who knows? I know for myself if I can have a list I am happy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

