Skip to content

Bacon Wrapped Pumpkin

July 30, 2011

This was a little idea of mine last night for dinner. And the word is? NomNomNom! It is soo good. I literally had to stop myself eating the whole lot. Who would have guessed that pumpkin and bacon would taste so good together. Deliciously salty and sweet explosions to tantalise your taste-buds. Loved it. Needless to say that recipe is going to be repeated many times at my house. All we did was peel some pumpkin, wrap each piece in thinly sliced bacon, and then roast them for an hour. The bacon turned out crispy, the pumpkin soft with crispy edges. The two tastes combined? Heavenly. Give it a try, even the kids liked it.

Hubby and I have copped a few criticisms for our lifestyle choice lately. I find it amazing that finally I’m feeling good, healthy, my whole self is improving and the ‘haters gotta hate’. Now I know they’re well-meaning in their criticisms, and they think they’ve got the better way to eat. But really, I’ve seen how they eat, I’ve eaten like them, and Paleo just makes the world a better place for me. I’ve lost body fat, I’ve improved in my energy levels, my health has come back, and my kids are thriving. Why would I want to listen to someone who doesn’t radiate that kind of goodness? Over at FastPaleo they’ve copped a bit of flak as well. I love their post on the subject “Dealing With Health Haters“, great blog post.

Over at TeamGorilla they’ve got photos of the latest Crossfit Games, some of the competitors are in amazing shape. I’m inspired by the back/shoulders of this lady. Spectacular fitness, don’t know who she is but she looks amazing. I don’t know if I’ll ever achieve that, but I think she’s done a great job.

And now I’m off to take my 4 yr old to the hairdressers. I went to have a bath the other night and left hubby in charge. 2 minutes later he appears at the doorway holding a pair of scissors and a handful of hair. Miss4 had decided to cut her own hair, 2 minutes was all it took. She had lovely light brown locks, and now we’ve got to cut her hair up to just below her ears. As hubby said “it’s only a hair”… I know, I know, but still. The job of superparent is never done.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dalyce permalink
    July 30, 2011 9:09 am

    Nat, we’ve been having pumpkin and bacon for years.. well.. this is how I make my pumpkin soup.
    Cook bacon, pumpkin (with skin on), onion and fresh garlic in the oven for an hour or so, then whizz in a blender once cooked!
    You can add chilli’s as well depending on whether the kids will eat it or not.
    Simple as that.
    So yum!

    Love your favourite person in the world
    Dalyce xx

  2. July 30, 2011 9:40 am

    I’m going to have to try that – though my boys think they are allergic to pumpkin, so I won’t have to share!

    That woman’s back is AMAZING. That’s a lot of training paying off right there.

  3. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    July 30, 2011 11:23 am

    But you’ve never let me know Leecie! Now I’ve discovered it! Call me Livingstone!
    Kel, I KNOW! I want a back like that. Am I willing to do the work that will get me there? Hmm, hell yeah!

Leave a Reply

