Skip to content

Paleo Chocolate Mug Cake

July 20, 2011

My wonderful friend Kel sent me this link for a “Gluten free Chocolate Mug Cake”  that the kids insisted on trying out straight away. The verdict? It’s a keeper!

We changed the recipe slightly using honey instead of coconut sugar, and water instead of almond milk. The kids pronounced it good. And have now decided it needs to be a regular feature in our diet. I’ve told them it can be a treat, but not a staple. I think the novelty might wear off soon, or at least I’m hoping it will.

In other news, I have the dreaded lurgy. I almost made it through Winter without coming down with the flu, unfortunately as of today I’ve got it in full swing. Darn it! I’m downing garlic+horseradish tablets, Berocca, and fish oil, like you wouldn’t believe, hopefully they’ll help me beat this quickly. I so can’t afford to take time off work right now. I just think I need a decent nights sleep. At the moment I’m waking up throughout the night stressing about work, or the kids are waking up and waking me. One nights sleep would be wonderful. Here’s to the power of positive thinking.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 8:27 pm

    Glad the cake worked out for you!

    If it helps, a heap of my nursing mates swear by Olive Oil Extract (available at chemists) for beating lurgies quickly. I tend to eat raw garlic on toast, but the studies out about the Olive Oil Extract looks promising. Get better soonest!

  2. July 21, 2011 12:48 am

    Glad you enjoyed the cake! 🙂 Love the swaps you made. I will have to try that too! Best– ATX Gluten-Free

    • Natalie Hatch permalink*
      July 25, 2011 3:53 pm

      Thanks Jess, the kids loved it.

  3. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    July 21, 2011 6:12 am

    Yep I’m downing that stuff as well Kel. They also have it available in lozenges which I’ve been giving to the kids to help with their immune system. Seems to be working.

Leave a Reply

