Skip to content

Comfort Eating

July 18, 2011

So I had a really rough day today. There are times when I wonder why on earth I became a teacher. I’m sure someone, somewhere has it worse, but today it seemed like every little thing could go wrong and thrown on top of that was a bunch of teens with attitude! Yeah you know the ones. They don’t like themselves so they have to act out and try to upset others. I finished work and was exhausted. It’s the start of a new semester so brand new classes, and brand new students who don’t have the decent understanding to be scared when I say “do it now or else”. I have to start training these kids all over again.

So I came home, and Miss4 was having a really bad day too. After an hour of her throwing a hissy I ran to the fridge to find comfort. I had stashed a little satchel of dark chocolate buds in the back of the freezer. They’re gone now. Inhaled would be the only way to describe my munching.

Why didn’t I just go and do some push-ups or go for a run? I just didn’t have the mental aptitude to push myself today. Yes it’s an excuse, but there are days that it’s better to cut your losses. Wait to fight another day. A couple of months ago that little handful of choc buds would have been a whole pizza or maybe something similar.

Do you comfort eat? Does stress bring out the munchies? I’m still learning to control the thoughts that lead to the inhaling of chocolate. I wonder if anyone has any other strategies they use to cope.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 8:05 pm

    I’m still in the pizza stage. šŸ™‚ Although at my workplace, we were out doing tai chi to help us ‘relax’ on the sfd. Agree we have our down days but I have so much admiration for what you’re doing with this Nat. xx

  2. July 18, 2011 9:04 pm

    Punching bag works wonders. Followed by 40 burpies. (I can’t actually DO 40 proper burpies all at once, but once I’m in the thick of it finishing is a huge pleasure!) And if the chocolate is still singing to me…. I go brush my teeth.

    TMI to say I have a friend who would ambush her hubby and say “Give me you for 5 minutes…”? That seems to have worked a treat!

    I hope work gets much, much better.

Leave a Reply

