Skip to content

2 Months of Paleo!

July 16, 2011

Okay I swore I would never do this, but well I think I should. I’ve been on Paleo now for just over 2 months. That’s right 8 weeks without eating crap and following a pretty yummy food plan. I have come a long way, still have a long way to go. But I wanted to celebrate today.

Now I don’t have many photo’s of me before I started this journey back to good health. I’d hide from cameras, you’d have to catch me unawares to get a snap of me. I preferred instead to be behind the lens than in front. Here’s a couple of shots that I don’t like, but hey I’m no longer that person.

I wasn’t happy. I’d been going to the gym, getting nowhere fast, even though I was running on the treadmill and doing pump/rpm classes. I was stuffing it all up by what I put in my mouth. 80% of weightloss is diet related? I can believe that.

What changed everything? Last year I attended a seminar given by Steve Willis (The Commando off Biggest Loser Australia). He was very intimidating, but he demonstrated a squat and said everyone should at least be able to do that. I knew from experience that I couldn’t. I’d done gymnastics years before and had been very fit. But 5 years of IVF successes and failures had put me in a spin cycle of weight gain. At my heaviest I was 109kgs (240lbs). Steve then said these words “Functional fitness will help you. You need to lift weights if you ever want to change your life”… now I’d always been on the “cardio” bandwagon. Women who lifted weights were big and bulky, I was already big I did not need bulky. Ha! If only I’d known.

He also talked about eating right, that the biggest thing we do is throw rubbish into our systems and expect a good outcome. If a person is serious about health they’ll make sure what goes in helps all the effort they put into fitness. Too many people are stuffing up their training by not eating right. He spoke of protein, carbohydrates (good ones) and fats. He also mentioned Crossfit. I came away from the seminar thinking “what have I been doing?” and so immediately got onto the web and found Crossfit and just as quickly thought “those people are crazy”…(the juries still out on some–a 1.54 FRAN? that’s insane)

I then found out about Paleo, but it looked way too hard to ever start it, especially with kids. Who had the time?

I started watching every Crossfit video I could get my hands on and then doing ‘scaled’ workouts at my gym using their methods. But I was butt-winking when I tried to squat and was exhausted after about ten minutes even with tiny weights. I went down to Brisbane and met up with Matt Swift and the team at Crossfit Brisbane. Instead of taking me for the half hour I’d arranged with them Matt spent nearly two hours trying to fix my problems. I was more than exhausted at the end of the session but soo hyped up to go home and keep improving. Earlier this year I had the opportunity to get my Level 1 Crossfit Trainers certificate, again with Matt and the crew. I threw up every training session we had and at one point I ended up in Matt’s toilet crying my eyes out thinking I could never ever get through it. I did though and loved the experience (even the throwing up). I was the most unfit person at that training camp and it was okay because I wasn’t there for anyone else, I was there for me.

A couple of weeks later I faced surgery on a complication from all the IVF/reproduction issues I had. I came out of that surgery thinking that I need to change my life completely or I’d never be healthy. And so I sucked it up and started Paleo. And here I am over 8 weeks later with children who love to talk and are sharing their world with us so much more than they ever had. I’m healthier and the weight is dropping off. I feel amazing. I’ve spent over 7 years feeling sick and anaemic (to name the least of my health issues). Now I have energy, I love spending time running and playing with the kids. I’m happy. For the first time in a long time I really am happy. I’ve still got a way to go, but you know what? I’m getting there.

And did I tell you? I’m 72 kgs! (158lbs) That’s 37kgs gone. Now I’ve just got to work on my pull-ups and then I’m going to get a muscle up! And then I’m running a half marathon and next year I’m doing a full (and maybe next time I take photo’s I’ll wear makeup…)

A big thank you to Steve Willis for those first words of truth.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2011 4:15 pm

    That is absolutely, undeniably, fantastically awesome!

    Well done Nat! Inspirational!

  2. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    July 16, 2011 4:33 pm

    Thanks Kel! I’m getting there. Felt a bit awkward posting this up but I really wanted to celebrate the changes Paleo is bringing to my life.

  3. July 17, 2011 8:38 am

    Hey Nat.
    Congrats. You look great. After going thru a year and a half of AIH I so know what you mean about putting on weight ;(

    I’m 8 weeks out of a csection and I reallly want to lose my excess tummy weight not to mention the rest of me. I am chronically lazy and know nothing about exercising. Can you help with what I should be doing?

    Kelly Ethan
    todd.kelly@bigpond.com

  4. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    July 17, 2011 10:33 am

    Hey Kelly,
    How’re the babies going? Need more pics up on FB, they grow so fast. Okay the first thing I’d recommend is to cut out Bread, Pasta and Rice. Just get rid of these things from your diet to start. You’ll be amazed how good you’ll feel and how quickly that excess bulge will start to melt. I also keep a stash of boiled eggs in my fridge for whenever I get hunger pains. A boiled egg fills you up so much, plus if you get the right ones it’s high in Omega3 and good fats that you need for vision etc. I start my day off with lots of water, then some bacon/eggs, a handful of nuts/dried fruit or piece of fruit. For lunch I have home made soup which I’ve frozen up in a big batch or I have salads with a bit of protein (meat/egg) thrown in. And for dinner I have the usual meat + veg.
    I thought it would be hard at first going without sugar, bread, pasta etc. But it’s not. I’m actually more full after a small meal now than I was eating lots of pasta. The more pasta I ate the hungrier I was. Mainly because that satiation feeling was never being triggered (need good fats to do that).
    So for two weeks cut or limit your bread/grains/sugar intake. See how you go.
    cheers
    Nat

  5. July 17, 2011 3:17 pm

    Cheers Nat u rock. It will kill me though. We are huge pasta and rice eaters lol. But I’m determined to slim down so people don;t ask me when the baby is due ;(

    So what is crossfit?

    xx
    Kel

  6. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    July 17, 2011 3:51 pm

    I’ve included a link to the Crossfit main website. Crossfit is Constantly Varied, Functional Movements at High Intensity. What that means in laymans’ terms is a short workout using movements you’d do in everyday things such as pushing, pulling, flipping stuff over that leaves you exhausted and laughing at the end. It’s so worth finding a good Crossfit gym near you and having a look. It’s a butt changing experience!

  7. July 25, 2011 1:36 pm

    Nat you are looking hot!! You are such an inspiration. So glad it is working for you. I hope I can implement some of these things into my life.

    • Natalie Hatch permalink*
      July 25, 2011 3:54 pm

      Thanks Cindy, it really does work. Hubby is reading Robb Wolf’s Paleo Solution book and is now hooked on my madness! Loving it!

Leave a Reply

