Skip to content

Winter Blues

June 30, 2011

I’m feeling it today. It’s the middle of winter and I’m finding it hard to get motivated to exercise. During summer I’m up at 5, running at 5.30am or Crossfitting. In winter (yes it’s a tropical winter but still hard to get out of bed) I just can’t roll out of bed. It’s pitch black and my body refuses to get out. There are no excuses, I’m slack. So now it’s holidays I’m going to get my butt into it in the early afternoon before I have to face cooking dinner etc.

We made more Paleo ice cream last night, chocolate seems to be the best flavour so far. I also found coconut sugar at the local asian food store. It’s low GI, comes in solid form, you have to grate it to use it but it’s a really caramel flavoured treat. I tried to make a coconut based frosting last night to go on the carrot cake I’d made, but it didn’t work, think I needed more time to focus on it. I’ve been assured that it does work I just have to keep on going with it.

I went shopping for new clothes today. Why is it so hard for me to spend money on myself? I usually go in to a shop see a few really nice pieces and think “Oh I should spend this money on the kids” and don’t buy anything. But today I forced myself to try on things and bought two new pairs of jeans. I hate looking at myself in those mirrors – you know the ones that capture every angle and expose you to viewpoints that you rarely see. This time though, I didn’t mind it. I actually didn’t look too bad, I mean I’ve still got a lot to improve upon, but it wasn’t that bad. Can’t wait to go back in a couple of weeks time to see the improvement, just have to push myself to get out there and work.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2011 11:11 pm

    I’m having the same struggle with getting up and out… and I can see the consequences. I’m hoping my new running music list will help.

    Maybe I should promise myself a big metal chicken for 100 straight mornings of exercise!

  2. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    July 2, 2011 7:49 am

    I totally hear you on this Kels as I lie in bed this morning. I will get up, when hubby does! Ah that’s not the attitude! I need to kick myself in the rear and get up and get moving. I think it’s been 11 years since I’ve slept in. Hubby gets left alone to sleep in all the time, I get kids needing things, kids wanting cuddles (which I’m good for), and generally kids just being kids. Maybe my hubby needs a big metal chicken just for remembrance.

Leave a Reply

