Skip to content

The Good Old Asian Corner Shop

June 18, 2011

I’ve been struggling with getting supplies for breakfasts, lunches and dinners for these kids. Rice, besan or soya flour is really expensive in the shops (about $6/500grams). I’ve also been a bit shocked at the price rises in fruit and veges since the Qld floods nearly wiped out the entire state’s crops. We’ve worked at trying new recipes and making things with alternate cheaper veges/fruits.

Today hubby and I ventured around the road to ‘that’ store on the corner. You know, the one that has that weird smell emanating from it. The one that has ‘foreign‘ signage out front. The one that really isn’t much like your own supermarket. The one you stay away from because you fear that there’s something in there that might damage your health.

Well we went in and lo and behold!

Soya flour – $3kg, Rice Flour $1.20/500g, Besan Flour $3.30kg. No freakin way! I’ve been paying hand over fist at my local supermarket and this was here all the time? They have Ghee for $8/500g (going rate here is around $10). They had fresh coriander, fresh bitter melon, yams, large green cucumbers, you name it, all at nearly half the price of the bigger stores. They had fresh spices and dried spices at nearly a third of the price I pay.

So here’s me standing and staring at the shelves (admittedly I was wondering what you’d do with dried pork rectums-that’s what the sign said- who’d eat dried pork rectums? Is this some secret Cambodian/Chinese thing that they try out on tourists? Here eat a pigs bum! *snigger snigger*) and the lady at the counter started giving me that look. You know the one. The look that says “oh brother, we’ve got a live one here”.  It was right about then that I noticed I was actually standing in the “to be served” line. Silly me. There was no glaring  signage again to tell me these things. Instead the shelves packed full of goodies fresh and canned and packeted. I could have spent at least two hours in there (if someone could give me a Mandarin/English dictionary so that I don’t accidentally buy the equivalent of dried pork rectums).

I think from now on me and the ladies at the Asian Corner Shop are going to become good friends.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2011 5:14 pm

    Where is the Asian Corner Shop?? I have been locking for some rice sheets to make dim sims etc that I can eat. The supermarkets don’t have them. But an Asian shop will. So where??? Those flour prices sound good too. I buy mine from the supermaret at those hig prices too.

  2. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    June 19, 2011 5:30 pm

    Round the corner on Richardson Road Elaine, just near the chemist.

Leave a Reply

