Skip to content

Chicken Tractors

June 8, 2011

Today was a public holiday so hubby and I tackled the chicken tractor project. And came out with relatively few scars, although I ended up with the most bandaids (not caused by me I must say). We took an old dog house that my father made years ago and turned it into a mobile chicken pen (aka CHICKEN TRACTOR!).

Here’s the bird wire going on.

 

 

 

Sewing the wire netting together was a chore, guess who got the job?

 

 

 

 

 

 

The new occupants trying to make sense of things. Here’s looking forward to many gorgeous organic eggs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I made another batch of great muesli bars for school lunches, and had my first Custard Apple of the season.

.

 

Ohhh the velvety goodness was amazing. I have missed Custard Apples, they were my Mum’s favourite. My 6yr old tried it for the first time today and pronounced the fruit ‘good’ but wouldn’t have more than a little bit. I will eventually convert him to tropical fruits, it may take time but I will get him hooked. Think we need to try star fruits and maybe jackfruits next. But never, ever, ever will I let them have Durian. Yeurck! That stuff smells like it’s come from a demon’s bottom and it tastes the same. I know it’s an “acquired” taste, but I’ll never get it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 7:45 pm

    awesome work Nat.. Make sure you share those eggs when they are ready ….

  2. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    June 8, 2011 7:53 pm

    No worries Nic, we’re a few weeks away from eggs just yet, have to still deal with the shop bought ones.

Leave a Reply

