Skip to content

Deglutening Our Pantry.

May 25, 2011

For years we’ve subsisted on bread, pasta, rice, rice cakes, two minute noodles, crackers, and biscuits. It’s easy food, the kids will eat it without a fight as it’s mainly bland. I’ve donated it to a friend, I feel better now that I look at my pantry. My fridge is full of fruit and veges, a little bit of cheese, yoghurt, lots of cold water, eggs, bacon, chicken meat and beef. There are very few processed foods in there. It’s like a whole new dimension of colour has exploded in my fridge and I must say I like it.

The kids aren’t too fussed on the new menu, but I did have a win tonight. Mr6 sat at the table, saw his plate, informed me in his wisdom which foods were really good for you and what they did for your body. He also let me know that some of the choices I had given him on his plate weren’t that tasty. I just smiled and said “try them, you’ll like them”. He wasn’t convinced by the texture/taste of some things, but he did try them.

The twins (who are speech delayed-the whole reason I started looking into Paleo) decided that meat was okay, pears were great, cheese was a goer, but sweet potato was off the menu. I win some, I lose some, but-as I said to my friend this afternoon-I stick to my guns.

I also made  ‘paleoish’ museli bars for the kids to take for lunch tomorrow. It’s hard because they’re not allowed nuts or nut derived products at school due to nut allergies in other students. So I smashed up dried bananas for crunch, added mixed dried fruit and Chia seed to the recipe. It’s worked well. We’ll see if the kids like it tomorrow.

Here’s the recipe:

Muesli Slice

3cups rolled oats

1 cup honey

1/2 cup dried bananas crushed

1/2 cup dried fruit

1/4 cup Chia seeds (high in Omega 3)

1/4 teaspoon of mixed spice

125g butter.

Melt butter, add honey and mixed spices – stir. Add mixed fruit, Chia seed and crushed bananas, mix well. Slowly add the rolled oats until the mixture is a doughy consistency (sticks well to itself). Grease a baking tray then add the mixture rolling flat until the pan is covered.

Cook in a 180C oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Score lightly when removed from oven. Leave to cool.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2011 5:31 pm

    There’s a new gluten/grain free granola I just found called paleonola- their website is paleonola.com

    I think it might be a good option for the kids to replace cereal.

    You’re doing amazing things for your family and for others by writing about it. Keep fighting the good fight!

    Diane @ Balanced Bites

  2. Natalie Hatch permalink*
    May 28, 2011 6:35 pm

    Thanks Diane, living in Australia it’s hard to get certain foods though. It’s a work in progress over here!

Leave a Reply

